The Next 50 Years

51st President Marilyn Burton #55106 (Peoria/Springfield)
2017-2018 brought us “Owliver” ( a stuffed owl traveling companion and icon for her year) and the theme “Gain Knowledge-Build Understanding”. Marilyn was the first single woman elected to serve as President. Emphasis was on understanding the Jaycees while involving new Senators and utilizing the wisdom of experienced Senators. The year started with the 50th Anniversary/Summer Picnic held at the Wyndham-Springfield on the hottest weekend of the year. The Fall Meeting was held in Bloomington-Normal at the Marriott and the Winter Meeting was held at the Decatur Conference Center. The four Poker fundraiser sessions held in 2018 in Savoy were very successful, earning above the proposed goal of $1,000 each. IL JCI Senate did a great job hosting the Region V Spring Fling, again at the Wyndham-Springfield, but with NVP Ray Ainslie #44136 watching during the banquet via Skype from his hospital bed two blocks away. The National Convention was a wonderful event held in Pittsburgh, PA (in “Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood”). Marilyn was one of only two Presidents who were selected to serve the year on a US JCI Senate Committee (Convention & Bid Review). Marilyn was selected as an Outstandig State President and the State was recognized for outstanding RTF and Road Run Programs. Gary Pittenger # 24804 was recognized for Outstanding Appointed Officer with the “Ron Robinson Memorial Award” and Ray Ainslie #44136 was recognized as the Outstanding National Vice President with the “Donnie Alvis Memorial Award”. Other Presidential travel, besides the Region V 2017 Summer Tour, included Region VII-Pigeon Forge and Region IV-Myrtle Beach. Hall of fame inductee was Jim Dimitroff #36997 of DuQuoin. The year closed with a fun Summer Picnic held at the Ramada-North in Springfield with strong committee work from South Central Senators.


52nd President Bill Patterson # 47979 (Park Forest)

Coach Bill (Park Forest) 2018-2019 brought with him the “Caddy Shack”, a fitting theme for an avid golfer. Bill wanted to embrace the basics of the Senate and have fun. Teeing off in Springfield the Region V “Summer Tour” was on with the usual stops in Ohio Pig Roast, Bardstown Bourbon Bash and the Indiana Summer Picnic.  Illinois Senators manned the gates at the National Sweet Corn Festival in Hoopeston on Labor Day.  We were back in Iowa for the Fall Board in Des Moines.  Illinois was recognized for third place Road Runner State with over 104,000 miles traveled in the first trimester.  On September 22nd we hosted the Larry Olsen Golf Outing in at Deer Creek Golf Course in University Park, IL. This raised funds for the Illinois Jaycees Charitable Foundation Scholarships.

This year has been very costly for the Illinois Senate, as we lost three of our long time leaders who were great men.  Past Presidents Ed Townsend, Bill Willet and Denny DeGroot passed within a very short time of each other.  These men were living proof “That earth’s great treasure lies in human personality”.  I offer my deepest condolences to the Townsend, Willet and DeGroot families and all of the friends they left behind.  We all will miss them so very much.

Fall National Board was in Des Moines, IA. Fundraising went well with poker nights. Winter National Board was held in Kenner, LA. Everybody enjoyed time on Bourbon Street and at the World War 2 Museum!  The Mini National in Pigeon Forge was a great opportunity for fellowship and also well attended by Illinois. The only “damper” on the weekend was again the weather.  You could have floated an Ark in front of the hotel.  Myrtle Beach was also on the course for the Illinois Travel Crew, but again the weather was not so co-operative.

The Region V Spring Fling in Fairborn, Ohio was also well attended by the Illinois Travel Crew.  Chaplain Marilyn Burton put together an extremely touching Memorial Service.  Region V Vice-President Vicky Dempsey threw a great party weekend.  Our Region V Vice-President for next year will be Will Chester of Kentucky.  Joe Callison of Ohio received the “Stump Award” as The Outstanding State President in Region V.  It was very well deserved!

Illinois TOYP and Hall of Fame Awards were held at the May meeting in Springfield.  Gary Hongsermeier and Mary Ann Gouveia Riggs were inducted into the Illinois Jaycees Hall of Fame, with a strong showing of support from the Senate.

National Convention was in Clackamas, Oregon (Portland). Ray Ainslie #44136 was recognized as The Outstanding Webmaster of the Year, and was also given a Presidential Award of Honor for his efforts in the “Reaching Out” program. Gary Pittenger #24804 received a Presidential Award of Honor for his continued dedication as National Membership Director. Wayne Kiefer #36498 was honored for his tireless devotion to the USJCI Senate Foundation. We should all be very proud of what they continue to accomplish behind the scenes in supporting the US JCI Senate.  Illinois was recognized as the First Place Roadrunner State for the third trimester and the Overall First Place Roadrunner State for the year!   Chris Curtis #35440 did a fine job of tracking and recording all our travels, and Susie Colbert-Curtis #73137 promoted our travel program tirelessly.  The Illinois Forum was recognized with the Nolan Terrill Memorial Award for outstanding state newsletter.  We were told that “The Forum is the standard that we measured all the other newsletters against. It has everything that you could want in a newsletter and is extremely well done”.  Congratulations to Co-editors Kay DeGroot #73333 and Marilyn Burton #55106 and your team for all your hard work and perseverance in making the Forum the best Senate newsletter of the year!  Marilyn Burton #55106 received an Award of Excellence for serving as Region V Chaplain.

The Nineteenth Hole was in Savoy with a “Return to Paradise”. Bar Burgers was at Pia’s Sports Bar with grilled burgers on the patio.  Perfect weather gave all some pool time and a great time to relax from our year in the “Caddy Shack”.  The Sam Barker Award was presented to Kay DeGroot #73333.  The Larry Ferguson Award was presented to Chris Curtis #35440.


 53rd President Wayne Huelsmann #30592  (New Baden)